Herbs

Homepage Forums Small Talk Herbs

This topic contains 4 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  _Robert_ 1 month ago.

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author

_Robert_
    Participant

Going crazy growing herbs this spring…making vinegars, dried herbs and just sprinkling fresh chopped on various dishes !

Now that I am a farmer, I guess I better start praying…Damm…I could almost like this tune

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZEWGyyLiqY4

Glen D
    Participant

@_Robert_

I envy you. Have grown herbs successfully a couple of times. First time was in using an entire back yard for growing herbs. We had a total of 60, some medicinal, majority were culinary, with a few medicinal and practical. My then wife did thing such as spinning, dying and knitting, making paper and soap. Each year I received beautiful hand knitted jumper. She also produced a large amount of absolute crap.

I’ve forgotten most things; a couple have stuck: I was a bit heavy handed with parsley in mashed spuds. Discovered that parsley is a diuretic. Pennyroyal is an abortifacient. St Johns Wort is contra indicted if one is talking anti depressants. A lot of the information I learned about herbs was about possible side effects, as well as practical and culinary uses. Well worth the effort.

A few years ago, I tried hydroponics. A few culinary herbs, and a couple of food crops; corn and tomatoes.
    My present garden has only rosemary and lavender , both of witch are useful.

I envy you your experience to come.

_Robert_
    Participant

Herbs are powerful for sure and lots to learn. So many cool scraps of practical knowledge are lost to the smart phone black hole society. I have been making beeswax hurricane candles as well, using locally sourced wax.