SINCE I'M NOT A LAW PROFESSOR, I WONDER….

Homepage Forums Politics SINCE I'M NOT A LAW PROFESSOR, I WONDER….

This topic contains 14 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by  _Robert_ 49 minutes ago.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author

Unseen
    Participant

Upon hearing the Supreme Court’s decision this morning, I’m wondering if it means…

That I carry my AR-15 into the local elementary school now?

That I won’t have to go through airport security anymore?

Also, I wonder if a private business can establish rules banning firepower?

Jake…any thoughts?

jakelafort
    Participant

Unseen i hadn’t read or heard news today. So i found the text of the decision and gave it a one half over with one eye closed.

AS to the first question in re. to carrying i think schools would not be permitted to prohibit entry. As to airport security…same thing. Airports will be permitted status quo to prohibit a weapon. As to private businesses i think they will be able to ban firearms.

I also think some of the members of the Supreme Court decided before they analyzed. It is so easy when in that position to go where your politics/ideology direct you.

But the holding was in regards to handguns. So it is quite possible that a state might impose same requirement of special need on an applicant and be denied…have the applicant sue…end up before the supreme court and have the supreme court uphold the state in denying the applicant an AR-15 or some high powered weapon.

I think that the wording used by Justice Thomas is too vague. He  ruled that Americans have a right to carry “commonly used” firearms in public for personal defence.

Does that only mean handguns or could it include rifles or shotguns if that is what the permit holder commonly uses?

Even the term commonly used sounds bad. How common is their usage?

jakelafort
    Participant

Correction* Schools will be able to ban weapons.

And Reg the holding is specifically handguns.

Unseen